Irrationally mad decision making to obtain the American Dream.

Apple Mac Expo 2008 -> No surprise = disappointment

AAPL @ $169 as you can see everything shown at the Apple Mac expo 2008 wasn’t much of a surprise. As I noted earlier analyst were being very negative on this expo which made me think Apple was likely and predictably going to fall. Down -11pts is nothing what I expected from a company that sold a spectacular 4 million iPhones in 6 months, gains 8% of computer market, and comes out with a new sleek innovative products, nonetheless this is why investors are saying it is a recessing bear market.

My AAPL JAN 220 Calls are worth $.01 so even the $.04 play didn’t work out, wow.
This is why any novice trader tells you to practice trade before doing real trades. I actually do many practice trades. I don’t know what I’m missing from this big equation. I keep losing. I make a good profit, then I lose twice to three times as much as I win. Why? I really think I justify why I get into trades, but then why with conviction I keep losing more then gaining? I’m starting to come to the moron conclusion that options are very risky. If I would of bought Apple stock at $200 I still would have lost as much as I have even though my loss is limited at $4000 going into the option trade.

I wish, wish, I had someone to really guide me and teach me, discipline me as a student. I need regulation in my trading to get better. I feel I am just gambling my money away because I haven’t gotten anywhere. Every year I start with between $1000-10000 and I end up losing it all. If I would just buy an index fund or large cap stock I probably wouldn’t have losses near as bad but I wouldn’t have any incredible gains to boost my networth either. I’m not greedy I just want to reach my goals. My goals are hard so I expect cumbersome account to build to what I want.

Last year I said theres always next years mac expo. Here I am still empty handed. shit.

4 responses

  1. The first thing is you shouldn’t buy more options than you would be willing to buy stock. The only reasons I buy options nowadays are to get leverage in an IRA account where I can’t use margin or pay a lower commission than buying stock directly in my Australian accounts. I prefer to use futures where I can, but again one shouldn’t buy more futures contracts than one would be willing to buy underlying stock. I usually buy options deep in the money. There are plenty of blogs out there that deal with the mechanics of trading properly. There are books too. Also it is hard to trade to fundamentals. At the least you need to make sure the technicals confirm your view. Also I only trade with a small percentage of my money – 6%. Though with leverage my positions are bigger than that. The rest is in longer term investing.

    January 16, 2008 at 7:21 am

  2. Moom,

    And your right, but I know I’m trading too much of my money, not in the money, and too many contracts. I was taught the right way I’m just trading against the rules which is why I’m getting slaughtered like a stupid hungry pig.

    I was taught to trade less than 50% of my money, deep in the money as much as I can buy, and only in dollar amounts like a $1000 trade which would prevent me from buying lots of contracts. I don’t know how to trade futures yet, maybe once I get successful at trading options.

    moom you are a well disciplined distinguished gentleman. I am not. thanks for the comment- fn

    January 21, 2008 at 4:15 am

  3. Lots of of bloggers aren’t really happy with this new iPad.There was 2 much hoopla about it and lots of people got disapointed.Thing is, I can actually see great deal of the awesome potential uses of the gizmo. Third-party soft for playing tunes, games, newsprints and magazines and books, all sorts of awesome stuff, but they failed to sell it right (excluding the books). It feels rather incomplete

    January 31, 2010 at 3:56 am

    • I have to disagree. When I saw the new iPad on the apple website I was 100% psyched. Why? I wanted the iPhone but never got it because of size and full-use. With the iPad, yeah its not a phone, but you know its going to get updated sooner or later with a camera/video and then I can use it with Skype!!!!! You can walk around with a tablet doing video conferencing + if this size could ever be upgraded to a touchscreen/laptop pro having final cut pro and other artistic programs for sudden inspirations would be awesome then logging around a huge laptop even a small one.

      Do remember this tablet will have access to over 100,000 of the iphone apps BUT full-size now + your typical Google office web programs which cancels the need for microsoft office suite since they can be converted. For a starting price of $500 the apple iPad IS GOING TO SELL LIKE HOT CAKES. I predict this iPad and future ones will out sell the iPod and iPhone by far especially if they update the next version with a video camera built in + some kind of usb to inport/use as computer or have pre-inputs instead of having to buy accessories.

      The downsides is that the Apple iPad STILL does work/think like an iPhone or iPod in which the user has to connect it to an apple mac / pc to download crap into it.
      I wish it could be a totally stand alone processing mini ipad mac computer rather than a media device. That is where I agree with you that it isn’t “full/complete” yet.
      But for once I think they are offering something very new/techy/and can incorporate all these apps made for something more user friendly then a small touch screen on the iPhone. I for sure will be using one for my business, presentations, videos to clients, and stock market, ex.

      thanks for your comment, paul

      January 31, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Leave a Reply

