Irrationally mad decision making to obtain the American Dream.

Young Chinese Generation have been trained well by their government to not talk about government.

So I went over some female Chinese students home to have dinner with them with another male roommate from Taiwan. The chinese dishes were great. We played a Chinese pattern/scrabble game and I won twice. My roommate still didn’t understand it and said I was a genius to learn it so quickly. It wasn’t that hard in my opinion. Just patterns.

Anyway, so after we ate I was interested to learn more of what they thought of their country, social classes, how everything is made in China, and how their government censors so much – being that it is still communist even if they practice capitalist ways. Well, they wouldn’t say a word – not one single world. My roommate tells me they probably thought we were both spies. They just basically said it’s all fine. I told them about only a decade to two decades back students risked their lives over freedom of speech in China and were mass murdered including female babies at a time if you weren’t a male. One told me the government tries to keep it a secret and censors things since they were born during that time so the government keeps it out of any information to learn of it. I just find this amazing. None of them would tell me what they personally thought as if they would be arrested and executed on the spot. It is crazy. We are maybe 7000 miles away and they are trained very well to fear their government and have no opinion. I guess America’s good fortunate of cheap factories in China will continue for a long-time so we will have cheap products with a high quality standard of living. One said extreme cheap labor will go on forever. I suppose all of these young female college educated women came from families of money and their parents likely worked for the government or higher management. To goto college outside your country your parents must do significantly better than their peers. It’s quite sad they can’t voice their opinions and just accept it. They said they just accept the censorship for not allowing global social networking sites like Twitter and Facebook to not be allowed – to allow them would mean the government wouldn’t be able to censor the sites and the information being accessed quicker and voices heard faster and louder. It made me think of Nazi Germany with Hitler as a dictator – really not that different. It seems we might have a new Nazi Chinese country in the near future. It makes me worry. If people just take things for granted, don’t question what’s going on, and just accept things then they are basically a droid and weapon of mass destruction. I know this comparison is vast but is it really that different? Most Germans just believed in Hitler and just did what he said. Germans were going through a depression. I don’t believe the social classes were as extreme, however there is a large poor group in China.

It makes me wonder about our U.S. companies doing business in China and accepting being censored by the government. Is this really what a U.S. company stands for? I guess profits are profits. I suppose we can only hope the new tech companies coming out of Hong Kong and into China will fight for the people and democracy. I’m not saying everything is wrong in China. They have many things very right, but I do believe you should be able to voice your opinion without fearing the secret police at your doorstep.

4 responses

  1. My wife is Chinese and I know lots of Chinese people. I think it is more about just not being interested in politics than active self-censorship. No-one has ever tried to get them interested in being actively thinking about politics and if you were in China it would be at best a waste of time and at worst damage your career etc. So they don’t develop that interest that much in many cases. And, I actually think the Chinese government is mostly doing the best it can for the people. OTOH, the more educated you are in China the more access you have to information. Blogger might be banned but you can watch Hong Kong TV in major cities on cable TV and if you go to a hotel even watch CNN in English. And you usually can access websites like the New York Times, BBC etc. – but you have to read English. But there is plenty of stuff in Chinese from Taiwan, HK etc. on the web. In the countryside you probably depend on CCTV1 to deliver you information…

    April 5, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    • Moom,

      That is interesting you say – bad for your career. I guess these females are educated and from families of money in their twenties so I was surprised, however my Taiwanese roommate was not. I do believe they have access to information if they want access, but it’s like they really don’t care. I guess it could just be cultural differences since honestly American’s can be overly aggressive, opinionated, and loud (as I am).

      April 5, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    • I’m pretty neutral. The point is they wouldn’t say anything. Quiet as a plant.

      April 6, 2012 at 2:52 am

  2. Also, if I start criticizing the US the usual response of Americans is to defend the country and deny my criticism is valid. So it’s natural that Chinese defend the PRC when it is criticized by foreigners even if they would criticize things to other Chinese people. If you want to know what Chinese people really think, go see the blog ChinaSmack.com :)

    April 6, 2012 at 2:40 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers